Our Heritage

Find out about the history of St James the Less

John and Mary Mackie paid for the church to be built in 1880

A showcase of wonderful architecture and decoration

Find out about the people who built the church

The church’s simple exterior hides surprising treasures

Learn about New Mills’ many churches, congregations and places of worship

Find out how the building has changed through time

Transforming the former chapel into the home of Spring Bank Arts

Find out more about New Mills and St James The Less